Grandmaster Repertoire: King's Indian 1 & 2 - Gawain Jones (2 books)

Binding: Paperbacks


Grandmaster Repertoire: King's Indian 1 & 2 by Gawain Jones (2 books)

The King’s Indian is an ideal response to 1.d4, combining dynamic counterattacking play with complete theoretical soundness. A past favourite of both Fischer and Kasparov, it continues to perform well at the highest levels of modern chess.  

King’s Indian 1 is the first of two books which present a complete repertoire for Black. GM Gawain Jones is the perfect guide, being both a world-class player and a longstanding expert on the King’s Indian. This is the book version of Jones’s Chessable course on the same opening, re-edited and reorganized by Quality Chess. This volume takes the opening moves 1.d4 Nf6 2.c4 g6 3.Nc3 Bg7 4.e4 d6 as its starting point, covering White’s main possibilities such as 5.Nf3 (including lines with an early h2-h3) and 5.f3.

The repertoire is completed in King’s Indian 2 which picks up where the previous one left off, showing how to defang the Averbakh and Four Pawns Attack, before moving on to the popular Fianchetto System. Jones also offers extensive coverage of the various Anti-King’s Indian options White may try after 1.d4 Nf6, as well as a detailed guide to using the King’s Indian against 1.c4, 1.Nf3 and other first moves – everything except 1.e4!

Gawain Jones is an English grandmaster, twice British Champion and winner of the 2020 European Blitz Championship. He continues to use the King’s Indian as his main weapon against some of the best players in the world.

Quality Chess, Part 1 688 pages / Part 2 644 pages.


Payment & Security

American Express Apple Pay Diners Club Discover Google Pay Maestro Mastercard PayPal Shop Pay Union Pay Visa

Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

Estimate shipping

You may also like

Recently viewed